Skip to content
SizingKit

Sizing the source

Transformer Size Calculator

Give it the connected load and the two voltages and it returns the kVA the arithmetic asks for, the next rating that is actually manufactured, and the full-load current on each winding separately. It also prints what NEC Table 450.3(B) permits for the primary and secondary devices, and stops where that table stops rather than guessing the rows it does not carry.

  • 100% free
  • No signup
  • 34 standard ratings
  • Both windings
  • NEC 450.3(B) printed

The load, and the two voltages it sits between

A transformer is rated in volt-amperes because that is the one figure both windings share. Everything else about it — amperes, conductors, terminations, protection — is different at each end.

The two configurations have different manufactured series, so this also changes which ratings you can order.

Sum of the connected volt-amperes on the secondary.

The side the supply comes in on.

The side the load is on.

Default 25%. A design allowance chosen by whoever signs the drawing. The NEC sets no such figure; the published loading guidance — IEEE C57.91 for liquid-immersed units and C57.96 for dry-type — is written in terms of hot-spot temperature and insulation life rather than as a percentage of nameplate.

Default 5.00%, and it is a placeholder rather than a figure with authority — Measured on the individual unit at the factory and stamped on its nameplate; ANSI/IEEE C57.12.00 requires impedance voltage to appear there. No code or standard prescribes the value.

The rating to order

Standard rating

75 kVA

75,000 VA

The arithmetic asked for

47.5 kVA

38 kVA connected, plus 25%

The binding step is the series, not the allowance: 25% growth took 38 kVA to 47.5 kVA, and the next manufactured rating above that is 75 kVA — 97% over today’s connected load. Dropping the allowance to zero only changes the answer if it moves you below 45 kVA.

Preferred three-phase ratings of ANSI/IEEE C57.12.00 and the NEMA ST 20 dry-type series. These are manufacturing conventions, not a code list — the NEC does not specify transformer kVA ratings. The 15/30/45/75/112.5/150/225/300 run is universal in dry-type distribution and is what a light-commercial answer will land on. Above 300 kVA and below 15 kVA the series varies by manufacturer and by liquid-filled versus dry-type; confirm against the catalog.

Both windings, at the rating above

One kVA, two currents. Each winding’s conductors and overcurrent device are sized on its own figure and never on the other’s.

Primary

90.2 A

480 V

Secondary

208 A

208 V

The voltage ratio is 2.308 : 1 and the currents run the other way by the same factor — that is the whole device. Note which side the big conductor is on: the secondary carries 2.31 times the current of the other end.

With 5% impedance and an infinite primary source, the secondary terminals can deliver about 4.16 kA — secondary full-load amps divided by the per-unit impedance. That is the transformer acting alone and is a ceiling, not the figure at a panel: every foot of conductor downstream lowers it, and a real primary is not infinite.

What NEC 450.3(B) allows, and where this site stops reading it

Primary protection only

Not more than 125 percent of 90.2 A is 113 A, and where that does not land on a standard 240.6(A) rating the next higher one is permitted: 125 A.

NEC (NFPA 70) 2023, Table 450.3(B), primary protection only, primary current 9 A or more — with Note 1 permitting the next higher standard 240.6(A) rating where 125 percent does not land on one.

Primary and secondary protection

A secondary device at not more than 125 percent of 208 A 260 A — licenses a primary device of up to 250 percent, 226 A. The larger primary device exists to ride through inrush, not to protect anything bigger.

NEC (NFPA 70) 2023, Table 450.3(B), transformers of 1000 V or less protected on both sides: the primary device may be up to 250 percent of rated primary current where the secondary is protected at 125 percent.

Two parts of Table 450.3(B) are deliberately not on this site: the bands for primary currents under 9 A, and the supervised-installation column that relaxes several of these percentages where qualified persons service the installation. Both change the answer. If either applies to you, this page is not the document to work from.

How to pick a transformer kVA and read both windings

The order matters: load, then rating, then currents — never currents first.

  1. Total the load in volt-amperes, not watts

    If the schedule is already in kVA, enter it. If it is in kilowatts or horsepower, switch the selector and give the load's power factor as well, because the transformer has to carry the volt-amperes and not the watts. If all you have is the amperes on the secondary, the third option takes that with the secondary voltage and crosses it for you.

  2. Set the growth allowance you can defend, then take the rating the series offers

    The allowance is a design choice with no code figure behind it, so put in the growth somebody can actually name and leave it at zero for a fixed load. Whatever comes out, the answer is rounded up to a rating that exists: 43 kVA of arithmetic becomes a 45 kVA three-phase transformer because 43 kVA is not a thing you can order.

  3. Read the two currents apart, and check them against the 450.3(B) cases

    Primary and secondary amps are different numbers and each one sizes its own conductors, terminations and device. Compare them against the two overcurrent cases the page prints — and if either current comes out under 9 A, stop and open the code book, because the row that applies is not on this site.

Technical specifications

Ways to state the loadThree: volt-amperes already totalled, real power in kW or hp with a power factor, or the amperes the secondary has to deliver at its own voltage.
Ratings carried17 three-phase ratings from 3 to 2500 kVA and 17 single-phase from 1 to 500 kVA — the ANSI/IEEE C57.12.00 and NEMA ST 20 preferred series, which is a manufacturing convention and not a code list.
Rounding ruleUp to the next rating in that series, never down and never to the arithmetic figure. Past the top of the series the page refuses rather than extrapolating, because above it the units are made to order and the preferred ratings diverge between manufacturers.
Full-load currentI = kVA × 1000 ÷ V single-phase and kVA × 1000 ÷ (√3 × V) three-phase, evaluated once per winding at that winding's own voltage. The √3 here is the power identity, not the doubled multiplier a single-phase voltage-drop run uses.
Overcurrent cases shownTwo, both from NEC Table 450.3(B) for transformers of 1000 V or less: primary-only protection at 125 percent, and primary at 250 percent where the secondary is protected at 125 percent, rounded through the NEC 240.6(A) standard ratings.
Deliberately not reproducedThe Table 450.3(B) bands for currents below 9 A and the supervised-installation column. The page detects when your primary or secondary current falls under 9 A and says the table stops there rather than applying a percentage that does not belong to that row.
ImpedanceAn editable field, default 5 percent, used only for the infinite-primary fault current at the secondary terminals. There is no sourced impedance-against-rating table on this site because no standard publishes one — the value is measured per unit and stamped on the nameplate.
Where it runsEntirely in this browser tab, which is the reason it still works standing in front of the pad with no signal and the schedule half written.

Frequently asked questions

Why is a transformer rated in kVA rather than kW?

Because the two things that destroy a transformer are both driven by current and voltage rather than by useful work. Copper loss is I²R in the windings and depends only on how many amperes are flowing, regardless of whether those amperes are in phase with the voltage; core loss depends on the applied voltage and the frequency. A 100 kVA transformer at a load power factor of 0.5 delivers 50 kW and is fully loaded; the same unit at unity delivers 100 kW and is equally fully loaded. Rating it in kilowatts would mean the plate changed meaning every time the load did, which is also why a load stated in kW has to be divided by its power factor before it reaches this page.

The arithmetic came out at 43 kVA. Is there such a transformer?

No, and that is the point of rounding into the manufactured series rather than reporting the arithmetic. Three-phase dry-type distribution transformers are built at 15, 30, 45, 75, 112.5, 150, 225 and 300 kVA and the single-phase series runs 15, 25, 37.5, 50, 75, 100 — so 43 kVA becomes a 45 kVA three-phase unit and there is nothing in between to specify. Above 300 kVA three-phase and below 15 kVA the series thins out and diverges between manufacturers, and control and buck-boost transformers are a different product family with a much finer series of their own; confirm against a catalog rather than against this page.

Which winding gets the bigger conductor, and does one device protect both sides?

The low-voltage winding carries the higher current and gets the bigger conductor, by exactly the turns ratio — a 480 to 208 volt transformer puts 2.3 times as many amperes on the secondary as on the primary. Each winding's conductors are sized on its own current, and this is where a 450.3(B) answer and a conductor answer part company: the primary device is permitted to be 125 percent of primary full-load current, or 250 percent where a secondary device is also fitted, and those percentages protect the transformer, not the conductors on either side of it. Secondary conductors need their own protection, and the exceptions that let them run unprotected for a distance are separate rules with their own length and termination conditions. A device chosen from the transformer table alone has not been checked against any wire.

How much headroom should I leave, and what does loading a transformer to 100 percent actually mean?

The nameplate kVA is a continuous rating at a stated ambient temperature and a stated winding temperature rise, so 100 percent loading is legal, sustainable and not the same as being at a limit you should approach with confidence. What it costs is insulation life: the published loading guidance is written in terms of hot-spot temperature and the rate at which insulation ages, not as a percentage of nameplate, and a transformer run hot in a closed electrical room with poor ventilation is being aged faster than the same unit at the same load in open air. The growth allowance on this page defaults to 25 percent because replacing a transformer is a shutdown, but it is a design choice with no code figure behind it — set it from growth you can name, and set it to zero for a fixed load that will never change.

Where does percent impedance come from, and what does it change?

It is measured on the individual transformer at the factory and stamped on its nameplate, and no code or standard prescribes a value — which is why this site has no impedance table and will not pretend to one. It matters twice. Available fault current at the secondary terminals is inversely proportional to it, so a 5 percent unit lets through roughly twenty times its own full-load current and a 3 percent unit closer to thirty-three times; guess it low and you overstate the interrupting rating the downstream gear needs. It also sets voltage regulation: a higher-impedance transformer sags more between no load and full load, which is why the impedance somebody chose to limit fault current is the same impedance that shows up as a lighting flicker when a large motor starts.

Do harmonic loads mean I have to oversize the transformer?

Yes, and not by a percentage you can guess from the kVA. Harmonic currents from switch-mode power supplies, LED drivers and six-pulse drives raise eddy-current losses in the windings much faster than they raise the RMS current, so a transformer at 80 percent of nameplate feeding a heavily nonlinear load can be running hotter than the same unit at full load feeding motors. The answer the industry settled on is the K-rated transformer, built with larger conductors and a heavier neutral to tolerate the extra loss, with the K number describing how much harmonic content it is designed for. What this page returns is the volt-ampere requirement; whether that quantity has to be bought as a K-rated unit is a question about the load spectrum, and the harmonic content is measured rather than calculated.

One rating, two windings, and the series you can actually order from

Everything awkward about sizing a transformer comes from the fact that it has two currents and one rating. The volt-amperes are the same read from either end — that is what a transformer does — but the amperes differ by the turns ratio, so a 75 kVA unit at 480 to 208 volts is a 90 A device on one side and a 208 A device on the other. Each side has its own conductors, its own terminations, its own lug sizes and its own overcurrent device, and the single most common way to get this wrong is to size everything from whichever current the calculator happened to report. That is why the plate under the answer here shows both, side by side, with the ratio between them stated: it is the one piece of the arithmetic that is genuinely a transformer question rather than an Ohm’s law question. It is also why a load handed to this page has to be in volt-amperes; a kilowatt figure divided by nothing is a transformer undersized by exactly the load’s power factor, and a plant at 0.8 sized that way is 25 percent short on day one.

The second thing that separates a real answer from an arithmetic one is that transformers come in a series. The NEC does not specify kVA ratings at all — the preferred ratings are a manufacturing convention out of ANSI/IEEE C57.12.00 and the NEMA dry-type series — so the useful output is not the number the load calculation produced but the next rating a distributor stocks. The 15, 30, 45, 75, 112.5, 150, 225 and 300 kVA run is what light-commercial three-phase work lands on almost every time, and the 167, 333 and 500 kVA single-phase ratings exist for a reason worth knowing: three of them bank into a 500, 1000 or 1500 kVA three-phase installation. Because the series does the rounding, a growth allowance often changes nothing at all — 38 kVA and 44 kVA of connected load both buy the same 45 kVA transformer — and the page says which of the two steps actually moved you, rather than presenting the allowance as though it had.

Two limits worth stating plainly. The impedance field is an input, not a lookup: it is measured per unit, it lives on the nameplate, and the fault-current figure this page prints is the transformer standing alone against an infinite primary source. The real number at a downstream panel is lower and comes out of the point-to-point method with the conductor in it, which is the short circuit current calculator’s job rather than this one’s. And Table 450.3(B) is only partly on this site: the 125 and 250 percent cases are here with their article, the bands for currents under 9 A and the supervised-installation column are not, and the page tells you when you have walked into one instead of applying a percentage from the wrong row. Feeding this page needs a load total first — a dwelling service comes out of an Article 220 load calculation and a device selection out of the fuse size calculator — and none of the three is a stamped design. What comes back is a table lookup and arithmetic; the engineer who seals the drawing decides.

Where your load schedule goes

Every number on this page is worked out by JavaScript running in the tab you are reading it in. Nothing you type — loads, lengths, nameplate ratings, the rates your utility charges you — is uploaded, logged or kept, which is also why the calculators carry on working in a mechanical room with no signal.

Nothing about the site you are sizing — the kVA, the voltages, the impedance you read off the plate — is transmitted, so the page behaves the same in a basement switchgear room as it does at a desk. If the job is a standby installation rather than a utility service, the generator size calculator handles the starting surge that decides that machine, which is a different term entirely from the running total this page takes.